Considering The State of the Pereline

Having been out of the working world for a little while I forgot how much I love days off. I feel free, and more than that, I don’t have to work. There also is that little niggling thought at the back of my mind about work tomorrow. (10 hours. Yikes!) But after that I’ve got a lovely few days off. The best part though, I thought I had to work Wednesday evening — and then couldn’t go to knitting, but it turns out that was Wednesday morning, so I can go to knitting. I never thought that I would be happy about having to be at work at 7 in the morning. (With no ride either, which means I have to be up well before 5). But I am really happy that I’m 19 years old and not still getting money from my parents. I’m going to splurge on some yarn when I get my first check. (There was this really cool rainbow, barber pole, coned yarn that I was eyeing).

Besides all that I’ve been knitting a great deal. And reading a great deal, and writing, well, not a great deal, but a little bit. I’m getting a lot of great ideas about my latest book while working in the cold, dark, beer cooler. It’s a great place for ideas that really take your mind off the face that your ears are blue and you haven’t been able to feel your fingers for a few hours. It’s going to be great. It’s got class struggle, HIV, dealing with old issues and a non-sexual person that everyone wants to sleep with.

My knitting though has been going well. Typically by the time I get home from work and finish the housework, all I really feel like doing is knitting, whatever the time of day. So that’s been getting done. I’ve got a shawl that’s all blocked and just needs to have three or four ends woven in. (I really feel like it will take much longer than necessary to darn those suckers in.) I’m also getting close to done with the Pereline, working now on the miles of I-cord that need to be applied to the edges, and making the decision on how I want to seam it. I was originally going to sew it up the front, but now I’m thinking of doing something with the back, making it sort of like an open-front vest, but I’m not sure that that would work, and I’m not sure if I want to seem it at all. We’ll see what I want to do when I’m done with it. However, that is a long time in coming. Here’s  a picture of what I’ve got so far, and this will probably give you a better picture of how this thing is supposed to go on the body. picture117

It really is just a shoulder covering. But Pereline sounds a lot better, don’t you think. (If you know how to pronounce Pereline, which I’m not really sure of.)

1 Comment

  1. Is it just me or is that Pereline shaped like what a priest wears? Only more petite. I have no idea why you are in a beer cooler for hours on end, but wear your Pereline if that’s the plan! Can’t have you freezing to death in the summer.

Leave a Reply

