Ohio Weather!

Almost three weeks since my last post! This behavior is  not acceptable. I wouldn’t blame my few, dear, readers if they all scattered to the wind due to my negligence.

And the worst part is that I don’t have a whole lot of knitting to show you. I’m not working on it daily, I’m not working on it every other day. I’m just doing it when I get a minute. The crazy stupid busy has subsided into a usual, crazy busy, which I’m handling with the grace and dignity that I handle all situations (except spiders and Republicans). I  have a paper due in a few days, which I really should be working on now, but I’m not so, HA! But I won’t bitch about that anymore. We’re all busy people and I am no different than anyone else. (Well, I’m very different, but that is beside the point.)

The weather today was very Ohio. Anyone who lives here will know what I mean. I left this morning around ten, and headed off to class. It was kind of cold, but not to bad. The past few days have been wonderful, and I thought that today would be the same so I headed off with just a sweatshirt on. I was a little cold, but running late and I didn’t want to run all the way back upstairs grab something because I wasn’t really that cold. I figured that it would get warmer too. Boy was I wrong.

While I was in that class, a fifty minute one too, the temperature dropped about ten degrees. I froze as I went all the way across campus to my next class. During that one, the University decided to cancel all classes after noon. (Yes, you read that right.) I thought that was nuts, but I wasn’t about to contradict it if it gave me some time off. I was looking forward to having a nice long nap. I left that hall (which is in a really strange/annoying part of campus because I have to cross actual streets and stuff to get there) and it is snowing like there’s no tomorrow. Buckets of the stuff was coming down. It was all white out. I set out for home. Most of campus was underwater, with a layer of sludge on top. You’d step and it would go spurting out both sides. It was nasty and I was soaking wet as well as cold. I came home, read for a little bit and then slept for the next few hours, it was wonderful.

As much as I really don’t want to leave me friends and everything here for a week, I still will be glad to have a little bit of time off. Granted time off, and being home are two different things. A small house with two young babies in it is anything but restful, but it is at least different. I can get some sleep, do some cooking, that kind of thing. And I’ll have my evenings free — which is prime knitting time.

And the thing is, I’ll be glad to escape residence life for a little while. I still love it here, don’t get me wrong, and I wouldn’t want to leave for anything (that might be a possibility if I don’t get them some money soon.) But I am becoming, well, disenchanted with it. I’m tired of not having my own room (this is probably because my roommate is one of the muscled meatheads. It also has been put to a vote around the floor, 4 out of 5 people think that he is an asshole. I am one of those four). I’m sick of not having my own space, or having to carry my things to the bathroom, or even having to share a bathroom with 59 other 18-21 year old men. I miss having a house, with multiple rooms. I miss being able to sit on my bed and think, “I’m tired of this room, let’s go to another one,” and then going to another room. (I could go to a lounge or something, but they don’t have windows, and all the furniture is this in-hospitable pleather stuff.) You know. I miss real food. If I look at another wrap square in the face, I think I might just throw up.

Since I don’t have anything else to say, and feel the lack of a picture in this post, have this funny image that is actually my desktop image.

funny male wedding pic

 

Hope that cheered you up. It never fails to make me smile.

 

1 Comment

  1. We drove through Berkeley last night on the way to dinner and it was the neighborhood in which I used to live -right by campus. The students were strolling around in summer clothes (it was still 70) and I got a bit of a pang. Of course I’d never go back, because like you, sharing a room/bathroom/living area is no fun. Your roommate is temporary, only a few more weeks and you’ll never see him again. Can you pick your own roommate next year? That would make more sense to pick a friend.

    I won’t even ask why there are now two babies at your house…enjoy your spring break and get some much needed rest!

Leave a Reply

