Late night post

Whoa boy! What a week this past week has been! I had two finals Monday morning, and a paper due on Friday. (By the way, I would like a judgement call on a 7:45 exam. I feel that this is a violation of the Geneva Convention.) The paper was a bitch though, more so than the exams. For one, I indulged in some hard core procrastination. I mean hard core. I didn’t really ever work on that paper before midnight for starters. I would leave my friends room around 11: 00 for the purpose of working on it, but then when  I would get back to my room, I’d watch internet TV for a while, and then stay up till about 4:00 am working on it, with the intention to get up early. (I saw noon as early. Leave me alone. I’m in college.) I never once kept that intention.

The last 24 hours or so were the worst. My friends and I all stayed up all night, because it was our last night to be together for a little bit. I slept for about 10 minutes in about a 30 hour period. (And I’d been exhausted all week before that.) When I got back to my parent’s house last night, I went to bed and slept for about 14 hours.

I’ve also learned just how much work you can get done on a paper at 2:00 am, while your roommate is asleep in the next bed. I’ve also learned  how sad move-out day is. You watch your friends slowly trickle out each day, and feel like a fool because you blubber on and on when each of them leave. Rush was the worst. After he left I cried a bit, but just when I got myself composed we got a text from him saying “I miss you guys already.” Bring on the water works. (It probably wasn’t helping that I hadn’t slept in days. I mean days.)

But here I am, back at home where the knitting is easy. It feels weird for me to not be procrastinating on anything. I mean nothing! This blog post, it’s not me trying to put off something that I really don’t want to do. I am just writing. And now, I’m going to talk about knitting.

Due to the lack of time this year, I’m greatly scaling back the amount of knitting that I do for others this time of year. I’ve been looking for an excuse to do this for a couple of years, and this is the first chance I’ve gotten. Still though, it will still probably be touch and go as to whether or not I can finish all this stuff. Also a number of these pictures are taken in my room, at night, and I once again apologize for the shitty lighting. (Really, you’ll see what I mean in a minute.)

Aviary Photo_130305833616564156

What you see there is the beginnings of a Fair Isle Slipper that I was intending to make for Christmas. But it is no more, I ripped it into oblivion. It needed to go for several reasons. It was probably too small for the intended recipient to wear; I had messed up the pattern, and the most important one — it was taking forever. I mean forever. So It’s gone, and in its place is this one. Aviary Photo_130315599577664107

These are the saving grace for all Christmas knitters. The Add-a-Bootie from Knit one Knit all. I’m about a medium to fast speed knitter and I can make one in an evening if I set my mind to it. Here pretty soon you’ll be able to identify people in my gene pool by this slipper. Both my grandparents have then and soon both my parents will have them, and I want a pair too.

This next one is going to be really hard to see. I plated with the angle and the lighting and the editing, and still nothing, so I’ll try to do better later. (Probably won’t happen because I really don’t work on these entries till I sit down to write them and I don’t think I’ll have the time till after everyone is asleep.

Aviary Photo_130315600556214313

 

See, I wasn’t kidding. The actual color is nothing like that. It’s really similar to the sweater on the last post, that shade of grey/blue. I started it around five today, and here I am, at 1:00 with half a sock — all ready to turn the heel. (This is causing false confidence. I feel disaster coming on.) I started it from the toe. I don’t know why, even though that was just a few hours ago.

What you don’t see here is the scarf that I’ve also been knitting. (See, excel at procrastination.) Almost done, but it’s out of a barpoled yarn and really, that makes it look like a grey mess this time of night. It’s actually pink and blue and very becoming. And what you don’t see here is the sweater, which has seen little progress and that is not likely to change till after the holidays. Ah, at least  I’ll have a new sweater to wear on the first day of the next semester.

 

2 Comments

  1. Congrats of getting through the exams and the first semester so well.

    The knitting looks great (I think – in some pics) and I hardly ever knit (or sew) for anyone else, so get on that it’s all about me knitting train and fasten your seatbelt.

Leave a Reply

