Sharing Gonorrhea

Really like this sweater.

Okay, I have this friend, we’ll call her Sadie, mostly because that’s her name. She’s blond, with a pointy nose and an hourglass figure.  She’s  a sweet girl, and the kind that I would usually force teach to knit. She gave me the old “I’d love to but I don’t have time.” That usually pisses me off, but considering that she’s a single mother with two jobs, I was willing to accept that she probably doesn’t have time. Anyway, about two weeks ago, I went down to the coffeehouse and I was wearing my Gonorrhea sweater ( or Rorschach sweater), and when she saw me wearing a sweater that I had made, she flipped out.

Now, the phrase “flipped out” can mean many things, and really it leaves the reader with more questions than answers. Let me just say that she really liked this sweater. She loved my Gonorrhea (you knew that was coming), what can I say? Like, made me take it off so she could try it on, and then walked around the store wearing it for a about a half hour. There was a brief period where I seriously thought that I wasn’t going to get it back. Anyway she pressured and cajoled and bribed me into knitting her one. I am not thrilled about this, but she is a friend, and, it being at 4 to the inch, is relatively quick knitting.

And she is paying me, and I say, that because it was money earned by knitting, I therefore should be able to spend it on knitting. It only makes sense. I told her that I would do it for $50, really just to cover the cost of my yarn, so I wouldn’t be losing money on it. I got home and looked at my stash and saw that the only yarns I had that would fit the bill (she said she wanted Reggae colors so she could smoke pot in it.) (I swear I just meet these people.) were from an unraveled sweater (Wouldn’t be enough for a sweater for me, but would be for her), a gift from Cindy, and some leftovers (it’s kind of stripy.) So, I actually will be making money. Cool!

Anyway, I am flying with this one. Namely because I have pretty much dedicated about 90% of my knitting time to it. I’m about ready to finish the left body, and start the left sleeve. The sweater starts in the center of it, and each half is worked outwards from there. It’s an unusual way of making a sweater, but a nice change from the standard bottom up, with all the percentages and grafting. I’m not adding that little strip at the bottom, which is cute but kind of pointless if you don’t decrease at “A” and “F”. If you’ve ever made it, that will make sense, if not, don’t worry about it.

The blurry photo means it looks like a pot-smoking sweater to me. I actually am enjoying the knitting of this one, but still, I can’t wait for it to be done.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

