White Blob

Last night, I hit a mile stone in my knitting.

I finished the white body of the Traditional Shetland Lace Shawl. (And you know this is big, I don’t type out this shawl’s full name for nothing.)  It still isn’t quite a full square, but I ran out of yarn, and peoples, I am really ready to see the tail end of this one. It’s not that I don’t like it. It’s easy knitting, it’s wonderfully soft. (An Angora/Wool/Nylon blend that I ripped out of a store bought sweater.) It’s easy knitting, making it great for dimly lit coffeehouses (though here lately it hasn’t been really portable), knitting in the darkened room while the baby’s about ready to fall asleep, wonderful to knit while watching Oliver too — no pattern and it can be thrown aside quickly as he totters toward the coffee table, and this thing was wonderful to knit on through the throws of Downton Abbey. However, during all those other times, it was very dull knitting. And it’s huge. Let me do a little math . . . . to the best of my knowledge the white center of this shawl has . . . . 62,160 stitches. That’s a lot of knitting, and that’s just the white part. With the rest of it, it is certainly is in the neighborhood of 150,000 stitches, or will be by the time I get through with it.

One of the biggest drawbacks to this shawl is that towards the end, I could only work on it at home. Not only is the thing the size of some small country in the middle east, but it is also sheds. I could only work on it at the end of the day, before bed, because I would always end up with a halo of white fuzz on me. Last night, I wore black when I worked on it, and I swear that my shirt looked patterned with all the white fuzz. (And about 90% of my clothes are either black or grey.) I would occasionally work on it in the mornings, but I was naked then, so it didn’t count. The chair that I sat in while I worked on it, it is covered in white fuzz, that and cat hair. I never knew a yarn to shed so much.

But it is sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo soft. I don’t think I’ve ever had a yarn this soft, not even a cashmere. I want to roll around in it naked, and with the size of this thing, I will be able to do so. When it’s all said and done, all the edges and blocked, it will be about as tall as I am. Maybe even more, and that’s saying something because I am, exactly, six feet tall. (All muscle.)

However, I am so ready to move on to the feather and fan edging on this puppy. Purling, I wonder if I can remember how to do it . . .

P.S. Here’s a bonus picture of Oliver playing with my yarn last night. We have to make the knitters while they’re young. And yes, my yarn was all slobbery

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

