Then I did . . .

At least it is kind of pretty.

Moving on.

This weekend was sort of a lost weekend. In a good way, not in that bad way where you’re sick all weekend. I sewed and cut the Shaded Aspen Leaf Sweater this weekend, but most of the work that I did was on the Gansey from Saturday. I sewed the steeks, (a lot easier than I thought — I don’t know why, but I always thought that sewing for a cardigan would be difficult) and cut them. Then I picked up stitches for the button band, and then, well, I don’t know what happened. I must have forgotten the THOUSAND times EZ has told me how to miter the corners on a cardigan. The outer ones are increased, the inner ones are decreased, after two or three ridges, do some decreases on the back of neck, so you don’t have a flower pot neck. (Technical term.) Well, I decreased where I should have increased, and I increased when I should have decreased, and I forgot about the back of neck all together. I wished I would have taken a picture of that, it was so funny. Well. Time to rip I guess. I pulled it all out, re-picked up stitches, and finished it off, just like you are supposed to. I used that buttonhole formula thing, and it worked out well. I actually made the button holes the right size! Usually they end up so big that they don’t stay buttoned. Then I even sewed on buttons! That rarely happens to me with cardigans. What’s more, they went on perfect. You know how you sometimes don’t get them on quite right and you have all sorts of odd jogs and jumps at the front of your sweater.  I neatened the inside edges with herringbone. I then put in an after thought pocket.

I remembered to get a picture of it too.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I swear, non-knitters just don’t get us knitters. While I was doing this they kept asking me thing, and trying to hold a conversation with me. Good Lord people, can’t you see that I’ve got a great big gaping maw in my knitting? Knitting should not have holes, and unraveling in either direction is not exactly an easy thing to do. Fun, but not easy. (I also would like to point out to you that this gives such a knitter high that it is not even funny. I now have the urge to put afterthought pockets on my comforter, the family couch and the family cat.) That pocket was so much fun that I looking at all my other sweaters thinking “okay, now which one of these can I put a pocket in.” I finished that off in a short amount of time taking care to increase so I would have a roomy pocket, and then finished it off. I actually was able to do this during an episode of Downton Abbey, which is such a sublime show that I really wish I’d started watching earlier. (By the way, don’t start watching it till you’ve got a few days free. You’ll see what I mean.) Then I wove in my million billion ends and pranced about the house in glee.

That glee has faded as you can tell.

I don’t know why we knitters don’t do more of these after the fact fixes more often. They are fiddly, and a pain to do, but they always take a sweater you hate, and often make a sweater that you love. Seriously, I wore this thing, maybe a dozen times before it was a cardigan. Now, I, well, I’m sure I’ll wear it more than a dozen times. I love this one. It’ll be one of those fall back sweaters. You know the kind that I mean. The ones you put on with a T-shirt and jeans to class up an outfit, or the ones that you put on when you wake up to a frosty landscape. (Like today.) I have two of these, (Fishtrap Aran and Rorschach sweater) and I suppose that I could always use one more.

Up next, Shaded Aspen Leaf Sweater, and why you want one.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

