ADD is a Real Medical Issue (Look at those dirty dishes.)

I’ve just spent an afternoon cleaning out old clothes. This is a bit of a lie, saying “an afternoon” would imply that I was doing this for quite a while. Actually no, this was a remarkably quick project, done in less than a half hour, including shoes and stuff. I find it helpful to work fast, flying through clothes, and make a pile of stuff to get rid of. If you instantly don’t think “I have to keep this” then toss it on the out pile. It’s a great way to get rid of things, and it makes you feel very spiritually pure to get rid of all that junk. If you haven’t worn in in a few months, get rid of it. If you haven’t ever worn it, get rid of it. Such a good feeling. I worked fast, worked up a sweat, stuffed it into five (yes, five) bags and have plans to haul it away this evening. See you later. (It’s important to get this stuff out of here quickly, otherwise in two days I’ll be re-thinking half of my snap decisions.) And the best part is, well there are two best parts, one you love the stuff that you have so much more because you loved it enough to keep it. There is nothing better than opening up a drawer (when you live in no-closet-land) and seeing only things that you actually want to wear. And, there is now room for new stuff.

As far as knitting concerned, I am about one repeat into the Shaded Aspen Leaf sweater. I had forgotten how consuming knitting color work can be. I wish I could show you a picture, but I have once more forgotten to buy batteries. That’s it, I’m going to the store now, be back in about ten minutes

Well, that took a little bit longer than I expected. While at the store I ran into an old friend that I haven’t seen in a while, so we went out to lunch and then here I am again. That was fun. Anyway, I got the desired batteries, and pictures have now been restored.

My hand looks really small in that picture.

Anyway, this is a really fun sweater to knit, and one that I highly recommend. (At least so far.) The motif is easy to “follow” while it’s on the needles, for the most part, but the motifs are slightly, but consistently changing as you go up the sweater. To those of you who aren’t familiar with the sweater (and you’re missing out) The little tree motifs slowly fill up as you go up the body of the sweater. So down here at the bottom they are pretty open, but they will be almost all green by the time that I get to the top. This will be more clear later.

I just heard on the radio that you spend one third of your life sleeping. That’s so sad. (My ADD* is flaring up today, can you tell? Oh, look, it’s snowing! Lets make tea! I want to read!)

But I’ll just knit instead. The kettle is steamy, the snow is falling, the house is quiet, and I’ve got a long evening stretching ahead of me.

*By the way, I have never been diagnosed with ADD, but I swear that I must have it. Otherwise I couldn’t think of anything that could possibly explain the way that I act.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

