Tuesday

I am in the mood to knit. This isn’t different than usual, but I feel it more. I always want to knit, but this feels more magnified now. I can’t explain this.The weather here is beautifully warm. It’s over fifty degrees. Ah, global warming. I’m making the most of it, and every few minutes I get up from my desk and walk to the door and just breathe in the refreshing air that is filled with the new growth. I wore shorts running this morning, and I actually went running, so you know that it’s warm out because I’m a big chicken when it comes to that sort of thing. I wonder how long this will last. I would check the weather, but I’m afraid that it won’t last very long at all, and in that case, I don’t want to know.

You can tell that I’m a disgruntled office worker because I’m already starting to steal the office supplies. I took an envelope and a stamp yesterday. It felt good. I’m not sorry.

Moving on to knitting. (I’m in a much better mood today, can you tell?)

I still haven’t re-started the Diamond Aran. I’m just letting it have it’s little time out so that way it can think about what it (me) did. I still even haven’t had a chance to finish ripping it out, though it waits by my computer and I do a little bit on it while I’m waiting for things to load and whatnot. (That’s one of the problems with this new computer, it loads everything quickly so I don’t have to wait a lot.) Maybe tonight I’ll put on my big boy pants and get a move on with it, but don’t bet on it.

So what am I doing in the mean time? Well, that’s a good question.

Do you all remember the Shetland Lace Shawl that I started a few months ago. (Read: May.) I started it, knit a whole bunch on it, put it aside and only worked on it every now and then when I had the urge for lace.

I recently had to come to the conclusion that it was going to be too small. Even for a shawl. This shawl grows out, more or less, from the edging, so if you knit the edge too small, then the rest of it is going to be too small also. So, if you choose an, um, difficult edging like I did, then, well, you’re going to have a hard time of things. I made the edging way too short, namely because knitting that thing was like being water boarded, only when you’re water boarded then you at least had the excitement of being captured. This was just dull; it was dull but yet still required my total concentration because I couldn’t work on it at knitting or while reading. So I made the edging way to short, and then things went south from there. The lace patterns were pretty and somewhat fun to knit and it flew by because it was too small. I got about two thirds of the way done with it, and then came to my conclusion. it was too small, it wasn’t going to be big enough, and I would be wasting my time if I deluded myself into continuing to do it further.

So really, if you think about it, then I am saving myself time.

I pulled out the needles, and will rip it all out if I feel like it. May it rest in peace.

I started it all over again. Only this time out of a wool, and this time with an edging I don’t hate. (The edging was pretty, a pain in the ass, but still pretty.) And this time I’m just going to knit and knit on it, until I feel that it is too big and then I’ll knit for a few more days till I want to set the thing on fire underneath the new moon and dance a dance to raise some knitting that was actually fun. That should be big enough.

(And then what will I do for the other four shawls.)

Such a new promising hand knit. It’s so free from the mistakes I make. It’s a blank slate, and isn’t there anything better than that.

This is possibly the worst picture on this blog to date.

This is possibly the worst picture on this blog to date.

What you have there is a lace edging. Well, it’s not lace. It has a little eyelet border, which is organic to the shaping on the increasing side, but I have to do two decreases instead of one on the decreasing side because I love the way it’s edged with the eyelets.

I will knit it big enough. All these knitting issues is slowly driving me into the arms of crochet. I must work to prevent this.

3 Comments

  1. Yay for warm weather! I was enjoying the sunshine on the way to the airport so I could fly to cold, snowy work. Ah, sunshine is so much happier!

    You are a ripping fool! I think it’s a mark of a great knitter to know when to rip. Can’t wait to see the new shawl, it sounds like it’ll be grand. Stay off the hook man!

    • I didn’t actually rip out the first Shetland shawl, I just sort of made the executive choice not to finish it. (It has grafting in it i.e. a bitch to rip out.)

      It really is the mark of a good knitter to know when to rip. And even better when you actually do it. (I usually, as you know, am so very anti rip. I’ll do anything that I can to avoid it.)

      Hook free Baby! Hook Free. Despite the fact that there’s one about six inches from my hand. I’m just holding if for a friend, I swear.

      Sent from Windows Mail

Leave a Reply

