Really, Some pictures!

 

I have come to the realization that I do not know when I will be able to put pictures in. I have made my peace with it, and am just really happy that I can show you all of this. Is Mercury in retrograde or something? I’m starting to get a little sick of WordPress/My computer/Blogs in general/Technology in general, making me it’s chew toy. But today the blog gods have chosen to grant me the power of pictures, so I’ll pretty much just take what I can get.

Explanations for the above:

The Rorschach:

(Note to Mike: If you’re reading this, this is the sweater that I have been knitting in the coffeehouse for the past two weeks.)

Okay, here’s the Rorschach sweater that I have been working on since . . .  September 23rd. (It’s so handy to keep a knitting journal and know this stuff. I used to be so proud that I didn’t care.) I’ve finished the first half, and just started the second. It’s knit out of a Cascade 220, that’s the golden, and some Plymoth Galway Worsted, that’s the green. I’m loving the knitting on this project. It’s so soothing and forgiving, and so relaxing. Any knitter in a high stress situation (A new baby, even one that I am not in the slightest bit responsible for, is a stressful situation. Magical at times, but still stressful) should turn to this stuff. I wish that I could have a little bit more time to dedicate to this one, but I’m still loving it.

And by the way, I had a great idea what to do when the cast on tail for the long tail cast on (the only one I use) is too short. If you’re close enough, and it’s a wool yarn, you can simply spit-felt the end together, and use the inner end for one end, and the outer end of the ball for the other one. What a good idea right? If you were able to follow that.

The New Project:

This is the Fishtrap Aran, loosly described in KW, but there are more detailed instructions in Knitter’s Almanac, so that’s what I’m using. I’m planning on steeking both the armholes and the front for a cardigan, but we’ll see how this goes. (I know, I have to do it sometime, but I just don’t want to.)

I started this yesterday, and haven’t had much time to work on it. I’m a slave to the chart, and always  having to look and see where I am. The work is still fiddly, and the rounds are so long and complicated, with few moments of not thinking. I’ll maybe work on it tonight, maybe. (I should study my Trig, but that’s not fun, you know.) I’ll have to work on this more if I have any hope of making progress. (I know that this has only been on the needles for about a day, but I still feel that this is going to take a lot out of me.)

The Finished Object:

I finished up the Seemless Saddle Shouldered Sweater. (Alternate title – the allteration sweater.) It’s knit out of a beautiful German yarn that was a wonderful blog gift from reader Joe. (Hooked on the Needle, see sidebar.) I had a few misgivings about this sweater. I don’t look good in red, (my face is too red, and my hair to curly), and I don’t like striping yarns in a sweater because they always highlight what you don’t want them too. But I really like this sweater. I did at first, but it’s warm, decent colored, and it makes me think of how generous knitters are. And I wrote “2012 Zimmermann Project” in the hem, and that simply makes me feel so clever that I was able to do that. (Not really that hard.)

I’ll talk more about this sweater when I get my mother to take a picture. I love it though.

The Gansey:

No, I guess we haven’t seen the last of this one, as much as I hate to admit it. I though I  was perfectly content to let it mildew in a corner, but I guess I was wrong. I just needed a break from it. And I felt guilty, like Elizabeth was watching me and making that clicking noise at my resistance to fix this one. I never should have ordered those Knitting Workshop videos, I’m becoming a much better knitter and person under her influence.

Anyway, I took a look at it and thought about what I didn’t like about it.

1. To wide.

2.To long

3.The collar.

So, I looked at this list. (A mental list.) and looked at which would be the easiest to fix. I thought the length. I have two ways to do this. I could rip out both sleeves and the yoke, some of the body, and knit them all up again. That’s not happening. Then I remembered something I read in one of EZ’s books. The thing where you snip one stitch, and unravel all the way around. So that’s what I did. And let me tell you that it’s way more trouble than it sounded like, but still better than ripping back all the top knitting. So I worked ribbing down from the body, and that’s where I am, doing the sewn bind off, and contemplating the rest  of the sweater.

I’m thinking elastic thread around the body to tighten up the body, and a shawl collar, maybe with short rows, to help the collar to not look like a flashdance, off the shoulder sweater. Any thoughts on this?

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

