Baby Shawl, done!

Sorry for that little episode yesterday, I just couldn’t dither on and on about knitting after I got those results. Now it’s time to move on. So here I am.

Oh, which of the threads of my life to take up first. How about the shawl?

Anyway, I bit the bullet, went into the local shop, bought the pins, and left. (It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, I went at a busy time.) Then began the fun of wet blocking. Now, you know my stance on blocking, it has to be done in order to call a garment finished. However, I have a very lazzie fair attitude when it comes to blocking though. At least for things aside from lace shawls. What I do can really be called more like washing than blocking. But lace, lace, it must be blocked, firmly and violently, stretching it within an inch of its life. Tight as a drum.

Anyway, I got the pins, and set down to wet blocking. The new idea didn’t work so well, so I was back to working in the usual method, putting down a sheet and sticking a million pins. Actually, I used 249, I know that because I bought a pack of 250, and towards the end I yanked the head off of the pin. It was sort of a high tension moment. Also, it’s very hard to stretch a shawl when you’re sitting on it, which I did find out. But I’m not one to be daunted and I laugh in the face of danger. (Or shawls.) By the end of that very hairy two hours ( I sort of messed up and had to start again) I had muscles that I didn’t even know I had hurting.

Have some blocking photos.

And here’s the finished shawl. (Let me know if you want more pictures.)

The floor shot.

The obligatory lace in the window photo.

There we are. (I think that I may have done something wrong there, oh well.)

This is the Baby Shawl from Knitting Workshop, knit out of a light blue and a dark blue recycled cotton. (I think that these came from two sweaters, same size, same design, same everything, all except the color. I like that this kind of ties them together.) The first lace pattern was one that I got out of 400 Knitting Stitches from Potter Craft, and the second was one that I made up. In Knitting Workshop she doesn’t tell you a good edging for this, so I pulled out Knitter’s Almanac, where she also has it published. Well, she goes a little bit more in depth there, as I suspected. So, take note, if your planning on knitting Elizabeth Zimmermann’s Baby Shawl, follow the directions, (which actually direct you) from Knitter’s Almanac, you’ll thank yourself later.

Leave a Reply

