What I did on my Summer Vacation, Part one of many

Lots of time this summer has been dedicated to things that I shall refer to as “not knitting”. However, considering my output so far, I would also have to say that I’m getting sufficient knitting time. I feel like I’m knitting enough, and that I’m doing enough other stuff, so I think I’ve finally achieved balance, at least for a little while. (You can’t stand on one leg forever.) Either that, or they’ve perfected the twenty-six hour day and someone forgot to tell me.

Lots of time has gone to cooking. I always try to talk about cooking, but I never get very far. I mean to, but I never remember to take pictures, and I never use a serving dish or anything, so while the meals are pretty tasty, they don’t exactly look like gourmet, if you know what I mean. Once I drain the spaghetti, it pretty much just stays in the colander till I haul out the Tupperware. (Which is actually Gladware.) Also, my meals generally aren’t things that I’d want to brag about.

I’ve also spent a lot of time working in the garden and keeping it, as my friend Vinny says, (cursing alert) “Wet as fuck” (Descriptive). It’s odd that Vinny even keeps a garden, and a nice one from what he says, because when you first meet him, you instantly think that he’s more interested, not in cucumber dust, but in another, pricier dust — he doesn’t exactly look and act like he cares about, or eats green beans. (Still, he’s a pretty interesting guy who’s company I enjoy.)  But the garden is doing well this year, despite its rather late start, and I’m really looking forward to eating some kind of a vegetable that wasn’t bought from a supermarket. (Also eggplant. I miss eggplant.) I had a bit of a blonde moment last night, I was watering, and then I put the soaker hose on the green beans because there is a million of them, and my hose won’t reach far enough. When I stepped outside this morning, I saw the brown grass, thought of needing rain, thought of it helping the garden, and then thought of the hose. I was running around my yard at nine in the morning, wearing nothing but my underwear, and laughing my ass off, turning off the hose and surveying the damage. I don’t think anyone saw me though, which is good because the guy in the back already doesn’t wave to me.

(By the way, to any of you who know me, if you want any green beans, come over in maybe two weeks,  you can take as many as you can pick. I don’t even like the things, but we always plant them because they do so well.)

I’ve watched a lot of TV so far this summer, it being to hot to sit outside and spin. I’ve re-watched 1.5 seasons of Buffy, and watched half a season of Dawson’s Creek, and numerous episodes of Friends.

I’ve read a lot too. There have been a few Knitting Potboilers, the knitting murder mysteries that I’m embarrassed to admit that I waste my time on. They read a lot like that bestselling by the number’s series.  (By Janet I-can’t-spell-her-last-name-that-starts-with-an-E) I’ve read Allen Ginsberg’s Howl and Jack Kerouac’s On The Road. I’ve read Sex and The City, by Candice Bushnell, (I’ve realized that I could write a similar book, only instead about the dating habits of New Yorkers, write about the habits of the Midwest population.) and Un Amico Italiano — About that Luca Spaghetti from Eat Pray Love. I’ve also read Of Mice and Men, and A Tale of Two Cities, neither of which were all they were cracked up to be. (Though I was into A Tale of Two Cities by the end of it.) Last but not least, The Prisoner of Zenda, by Anthony Hope, and I don’t know why more people haven’t read that one, it was good, but a touch wordy.

(See, I’ve been busy, all of this, plus knittng, housework, and work.)

Now, if you’re still with me, let’s get to the reason that you’re here, knitting. First up, the baby blanket.

This is EZ’s square baby blanket, from, Knitting Workshop, what else? It’s knit out of some unmentionable yarn that is machine washable, fairly soft and starchy, on sale, and had the exact colors I wanted. (My sister’s a little particular about what kind of blue she’s using.) (Also, Joe, leave me alone.) It’s a little less than a quarter of the way done. (And I started it late Sunday, can you believe that? Vodo) I love me some Garter stitch.

This a swatchcap. Yes, a cap that is my swatch, a method that EZ thinks very highly of. This is the first time that I’ve done it, thinking, that while it’s a good way of telling accurate gauge in the round, that it was, well, a time sucking dumb ass idea. (Still thinking it’s unnecessary.) This whole Knitting Workshop thing is all about me trying new things though, and this is one of them. I didn’t want to graft, but I did it, and I’m glad I now know how to do so. This shouldn’t be any different. Not to mention, it’ll be another gift to add the “keep the holiday’s sane” box. I have to make some kind of a half-hearted attempt.

Someday, that little cap will grow up to be a Gansey, and I hope that day comes sooner than later.

How have you spent your summer? Couldn’t be better than mine!

 

Leave a Reply

