The Haul

Yesterday morning, bright and early (i.e. about Ten o’clock) I grabbed my knitting and my father, (Who actually wanted to go) And set off for Wooster. Our destination, The Great Lakes Fiber Show.

I had forgotten that Wayne county is such a beautiful place too. It’s mostly farm, to those of you who didn’t grow up like ten minutes from it. But, this time of year with the brown fields newly planed with small green things, it is utterly breathtaking.

We were a little pressed for time. (My father does AC repair on the side a little, and this is like the busiest weekend of the year.) I would have found another ride, one where we could have had many laughs, and made a day out of it, but he really wanted to go, it’s one of the few times our interests meet.

I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves. Let me just say that Alpaca was dirt cheap this year, the cheapest I’ve ever seen it, and I’m kicking myself for not buying more of it. (I bought two pounds, unprocessed, for just 20$ To those who do not knit, that is a price sooooooooo good that I felt like I was taking advantage of the seller)

 

And now I’ve bought about a year’s worth of spinning supplies. And this will help me with my Zimmermann project, having a few sweater’s worth of roving.

Today is Memorial Day down here in the US. It’s a day to remember fallen soldiers in all the wars, too many I say, that our country has fought. Take an earnest minute now to think about that, no matter where you’re from.

 

Thank you for the minutes. It is also the unofficial start of summer too, so now go and weed those flower beds!  Ah, who are we kidding? Let’s just go knit some lace. Speaking of which, I started a shawl a few days ago. It’s a traditional Shetland Shawl. (I’m all about the Shetland stuff.) That means that you have to start with the edge. I did that on Saturday night, (Ah, date night) I got about four or so inches, done on it, and I hated it. It was too open (I was using a super fine yarn) too complicated, and I just didn’t like it.

So last night, after cooking a very sensual lasagna, (Two jars of sauce, a can of tomatoes, a tub of ricotta, and a whole pack of mozzarella. I feel the need to go running.) I pulled the whole thing out, and instead of doing the dishes, I managed to knit exactly one whole repeat of this lace pattern. No one said this was going to be easy.

(And my knitting and whatnot, has fallen behind my blogging. How does this always happen to me. I need to show you that lace, the unraveled yarn)

I have an important question for all of you, concerning the Knitting Workshop project. What should I do about the variations? For instance, on the Seemless Yoke, she gives you three different yoke patterns. Do I have to do all of them? Julie Powell said she skipped the variations in Mastering the Art of French Cooking. My mother said I don’t have to do them, only if I want to. What do you guys think. Should I just use my good judgement? (HAH!) HELP!!!

3 Comments

  1. Nice haul! I love that word!

    I think if you’re going to claim that you knit through the entire Knitting Workshop then you have to knit ALL the variations, including the ones that just pop into your mind regardless of whether they appear in the book or not.

    Otherwise, it’s kind of a fraud, no? LOL

    ::RUNS::

Leave a Reply

