WIP Deck Clearing

The official start-up date looms before me, but I’m doing my best to get ready for it. I’ve got six days till D-day, which really won’t be that different from any other day. June first is coming, and it’s coming soon.

So I’m working to get all other projects, ones that are not a Zimmermann, off the needles. At least  the ones that I’m actively working on, the other ones will just mildew in the corner for a while. (Oh, what a while.) I’m please to report that I’ve got about an evening’s worth of knitting left before it becomes all Zimmermann all the time.

Let’s have some pictures.

Here’s one of my most controversial projects to date. The squares for a friend’s blanket. I’m pleased to say that I don’t have enough to do another one, which means that four will be all for me, and I can now commence to moving on to bigger and better things.

Once I spend about an hour or two on it. Then I will be ready to revel in the wisdom of Elizabeth. (I think using her first name is now appropriate, by the end of this thing, I imagine that we will be quiet close, as close as we can be, considering that she isn’t alive any more.)

And then here’s another thing that I’m glad to have done.

The socks!! They’re knit for my father, for a Christmas present. I love to get a head start on things, and this is no exception. Christmas knitting this year will be an odd affair, either I make Zimmermann sweaters for everyone, or they get socks, and that’s it. I’ll have to start ahead of time too. I at least now know that I’ll have something for my father.

These socks look a little big, which is because they are. These were the ones that really startled me when I found out what my gauge was. On a US 3, I was getting . . . 5 stitches to an inch. Can you believe that? I knit continental style, which means I’m naturally lose, (Which makes me very popular.) but this is just too lose. It unsettled me. I need to start investing in smaller needles I guess.

So that’s where I am. That, and trying to figure out some of the intricacies of some of Elizabeth’s trickier patterns. I think I’m starting to figure it out, but let me just tell you that some of these won’t be easy. That and spinning. I love spinning.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

