Desperate Squares

It has been a long time since I’ve talked TV, or at least in-depth. It’s been even longer since I’ve talked about Desperate Housewives, that little, now sadly over, gem. Partly because I hate to wax lyrical about any TV show, simply because it makes me sound like some pathetic soul with no life. (I am a pathetic soul with no life, but I don’t like to wear it on my sleeve.) And I also dislike being obsessed, or seeming obsessed, at anything to do so closely with Teri Hatcher. And also because, aside from my mother, I don’t know anyone, virtual or not, who still watches Desperate Housewives. So, I’ll just take a minute to blabber about it. I give you full permission to skim, or skip entirely the next few paragraphs. Also skip the next few paragraphs if you’ve yet to see it.

My, what an ending. The way that they wrapped up all the plots in that neat and tidy little package, in only two hours was a feat of writing that I don’t think that I’ll ever be able to produce.  And when Karen jumped in and confessed to a crime that she didn’t commit, both my mother and I were stunned. It was a jaw-dropping, stunned speechless moment. And really a touching moment from what was always kind of a “secondary” character.

And then the ending. I was a little sad that the girls drifted a little apart. I would have liked to see them move on, but still remember their old lives, and their old friends. But such is life. Still it was nice to see them all move on and be happy. And then that thing with the box and the new owner of the house? I loved the way that they stayed true to the original spark for the series, the way that we all have secrets that we keep from our neighbors. (Except mine, they don’t have any secrets, but I wish they would keep a few things to themselves, and out of their yard.) My mother, a little while after it was over, said, “What are we going to do with our Sunday nights now?”

To which I replied, “Wonder what was in that box!”

OKAY FINDING A WAY TO MOVE ON WITH MY LIFE NOW!!!

KNITTING!!

Here’s what shall forever be known as square two. It is Entrelac. It is green. It is made out of a mid-level acrylic. (Don’t Shoot!) Known as Caron Simply Soft. A number of readers just threw up a little. It’s not that bad, and I didn’t pick it out, and I didn’t have to pay for it. Any free yarn is good yarn, and I will say that this stuff is durable.

Square two:

Yes, that is what you think it is.

Yes, it really is.

I would like to apologize to my family and to the knit blog community, all who expected better from me.

I will avoid anything having to do with toilet paper, Barbies, and/or cozies, or any combination of the three.

Forgive me, for I have crocheted.

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

