Pay it Forward, Socks with Toes, and a new Project which I’m sure will commence taking over my life at any given moment

To  begin with, let’s get the business end of this post over and done with. I’ve signed up for some really cool bloggy thing, with the help of big blog supporter Pearls-Toronto(http://pearls-toronto.com/author/pearlstoronto/) (Click the link, she really is a pearl.) It’s called the Pay It Forward, and to me, it not only sounds like a lot of fun, but a really nice thing to do.

Here are the rules:
1.  I will send a surprise gift to the first three people to comment on this post. The gift will be handmade by me.  It will be sent sometime in the next 365 days. It will be a surprise.  We all love getting surprises in the mail, right?
2. To sign up and receive a gift, you must play along, too. Pay it Forward on your blog, by promising to make a surprise for the first three people who comment on the post.
3. You must have a blog. (That is regularly updated, as I will blog stalk you to find the right little something for you)
4. After commenting here, you must repost this or something similar to your blog in 48 hours.  If not, I will choose the next person who comments…
 
And so the madness starts, why do I have a feeling that I am going to regret this for some reason, as on April 28th 2013 I vainly search for an all night post office. Ah, won’t be the first time. And if I don’t have three comments, I simply plan to send something to Pearls-Toronto.
 
~Socks~With Toes~
Something else finished to report. I love finishing things, though there is always that little moment of sadness which is right before I start searching for something else to knit.
 
These are knit from a recycled Shetland wool, using my own pattern, knit from the top down, with a short row heel. (Which I must say, that miracle of shaping is quickly becoming my favorite.) I used some ancient embroidery thread I happen to have lying around, to give a little bit of flavor to what would otherwise be a plain sock. Tomorrow I’ll trot on up to the post office, and send them on their merry way, to a recipient who I know will love them, and even more so because they will be a surprise. And they’ll be a surprise in the mail. (Well, she knows what they look like, and has even tried one on, which was when she made me promise them to her. It’s a long story as to why I can’t give them to her in person. ) (To those who know me, it’s Hannah, of Abby and Hannah)
 
These have already been replaced by another pair of socks. I would show you a picture of them, but I’ve finished one, and I’ve yet to start on another one. I think it’s bad luck to show one sock, before the other has been cast on, so you may have to wait a day or two on this one. The first sock flew by in a little more than 24 hours. I was a little flabbergasted at this. Then yesterday, I measured my gauge, which I thought was around 6 or 7 stitches to an inch. (What, I didn’t swatch it was a toe up sock from a pattern I made up! Don’t look at me like that!) Yesterday, I measured and found out that I am getting 5 stitches to an inch. 5! On U.S. 3’s! Can you believe that. I don’t consider myself a terribly loose knitter, or a terribly tight one either. I’m like the baby bear, just right. But, after seeing this, well, I’ m not sure what I should do. Swatching more would probably be a start, that and collecting more needles in smaller sizes.
 
~A new Project which I’m sure will commence taking over my life at any given moment~  (Alternate title, my new sweater.)~
 
This is going to come as a huge shock to all of you, but I have started a new project. It is cabled, it is navy, almost to the point of blackness, but most importantly, it is another Zimmermann.
 
I am nothing if not predictable — almost to a startling degree. Anyone care to venture a guess. I’ll give you a hint, it’s knit flat. I’ll try again, It’s cables, and you HAVE to start with a sleeve.
 
I’m knitting the Hand to Hand Aran. The one from Knitting Workshop, which I always thought was pretty interesting.
 
Sorry for the bad picture, is there some kind of a trick to photographing dark yarns? If there is I don’t think that I’ve mastered it. I started this last night, oddly enough while listening to the radio, and it’s been my near constant companion since then. The yarn is a recycled wool-nylon blend*. I love this thing, everything about it. The feel of the yarn, the texture of the cables, the way that the little rope cables frame the twisty cables in the center of it. (Technical Terms.)
 
I think that’s everything. Imagine, I go one or two days without blogging and this is what happens. It’s a wonder I have a chance to get anything else done. I guess this explains for the big mess that is my desk.
Leave a Reply

