How?

Did this happen?

I blog pretty frequently right? It’s not daily, but it’s pretty often, nothing to be ashamed of. I like blogging, it makes me happy, so I do it often. But something odd has happened. I don’t mean odd like I think that I’ve been abducted by aliens (again) or that I think I’ve seen God in my garlic bread. Just odd, as in a rare occurrence that only happens once or twice a millenia.

My blogging is behind my knitting.

I don’t know how this happened. It stared off so simple. I would talk about something else one day, and put of showing you that sock till tomorrow. I had a lot of work to do, so I didn’t have to time to show you that sweater. Something knitting related sparked my interest, so I showed you that instead of the row I done on this thing.

Where did it all go wrong?

The say that when you’re in a hole, stop digging. Then, you should start to fill that hole up. Here goes the first shovel full.

The Striped sweater is done, and just about ready to go into storage with all the other sweaters for the summer. (I have long sleeve shirts still, it’s still a little chilly now and then.) I’m letting it linger on the back of my desk chair for a while, because this thing was on the needles for a long time. (Like eleven months if I think about it) I worked on it on and off, stopping at the slightest mistake, putting it down for a few months, then picking it up and wondering what make me stop in the first place. It was worked mostly in short bursts when I had the urge to clean the house up, including all the knitting in it. I worked on this then, because I’d rather knit than clean, and working on this sweater made me feel like I was cleaning something.

I look really weird in one of those pictures. I look like a male version of Marilyn Monroe. And the other one makes the sweater look like an after thought — like I wanted to show you a great shot of my chest, again looking weird. But, I’m working on how to figure out how to use that timing option on my camera. Not half bad for a first attempt.

The gray yarn was a Caron number that I picked up, not because I really liked it, but because it was on sale. (Boy, am I Scottish!) I knit it into about four (no joke) sweaters, before I finally ended up with one that I wouldn’t be ashamed to wear in public. That is this one. The brown yarn was a nameless orphan that I rescued. (Read: bought at yard sale.)

I won’t tell you the pattern, simply because it was a poorly written one, wrought with mistakes, and I also heavily improvised on it. For instance, that was a pullover, this is a cardigan.

And now that this one is officially done, I’m going to go and work on that mitten. Maybe. Maybe not. I don’t know. I’m really just looking for a good way to end this. Honesty is the best policy, right?

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

