Observations and a Blurry Sweater

I first must say that I really, really have no shame.  None, whatsoever, which is actually a pretty good thing, there are many times where shame is a bit over rated.

Take today for instance.  I’m editing my second book, which you may or may not know. You also may or may not know that this book is about a divorced woman who travels the country to “find herself.” (Aside, I hate that phrase, but I can’t think of anything else to say.)

So naturally, I need to find out as much about the places she went to. The best way to do this would be to visit those places myself, but if I’m going to do that, then I might as well write about ME visiting them. Makes sense right? So today, I call about five different states to request tourist information. Here’s what I’ve observed.

A. The man in California just sounded like he wanted to finish his shift and “hit the waves.”  This was the only person I actually told what I wanted the information for. I said, “I’m a writer and I’m working on a book and part of it is set in California,”

To which he replied, “Oooookay . . . ”

B. You know how we all complain about how people are being replaced by machines. Well, today I was very thankful for the City of Seattle for doing that, as well as Sonoma County and Milwaukee.

C. The man in Illinois was very helpful, if I actually were going to Chicago, I would have liked him quite a bit. This man couldn’t let me get off with an address and a have-a-good-day. This man just about planned my vacation for me. A vacation that I’m not taking. Thank God that he didn’t ask me to pre-pay for them.  So, there is a man who works for the Illinois Tourist Department who thinks that a man who lives in Ohio is going to Chicago this summer and he wants to fish on Lake Michigan (something I don’t want to do) and who is going to this theme park/carnival. I just wanted to get off the phone with him, so I was agreeing to anything. I did draw the line when he started suggesting that I may want to . . . . I can’t say it  . . . . Oh, I can . . . . watch . . . . watch . . . .  baseball!!  

So, if you need to do a little research for say a book or an article, that is a great way to do it. Whatever you do though, don’t tell them you don’t plan on visiting their state. Then  you have to wait five minutes, give them a fake name, and plan a fake vacation and pretend to be happy about it.

So, lets move on to the knitting, shall we?

Sorry for the blurry photo’s these were taken a little late, and by not exactly the best camera operator, you know what I mean?

This is by far the favorite pullover I’ve ever knit, and it’s even in the running for best sweater ever. I’m really liking the things that I’m learning about how to make a sweater fit, and how to make a sweater that I want. I’m even learning how to walk that fine line between “Interesting” and “wearable.”

2 Comments

    • Sorry, the picture was taken after a long day, rather late at night and in a hurry, yada yada yada, excuses, excuses, I know. It didn’t help that the camera operator really shouldn’t be behind a camera, and that they really didn’t want to be there. I’ll try better next time.

Leave a Reply

